What’s the Story with Moon Days?
  

Many of us know through experience or through hearing the rumours that Ashtanga Yoga is a strong practice, both physically and mentally. The practice (when adhered to properly) requires intense dedication from its students which is one of the reasons this practice can be so incredible transforming.

When I first began to practice I didn’t adhere to all these ‘rules’ such as practicing 6 days per week, taking rest when I was menstruating, respecting the full and new moon as rest days. But after a year or so they seemed to make sense and I naturally wanted to respect and follow this tradition in its tried and tested form.

When I explain to friends, family (and sometimes students) the reasons why we take rest on new and full moon I am often met with a rolling of the eyes, like what I am saying has no substance. And maybe it does appear that way, but I can say in honesty that since I have started respecting the moon cycles my whole body seems more in sync with the natural cycles of the planet and universe. Taking rest on the moon isn’t just a requirement, by the time the moon day comes along, I can actually feel it in my body.

Moon Days and their Relation to Ashtanga Yoga
Moon Days and their Relation to Ashtanga Yoga

Here is a good description from the Jois Ashtanga Yoga Centres


“It has always been the tradition in Ashtanga Yoga to rest from asana practice on new and full moon days (tithis). When asked why we shouldn’t practice on these days, Guruji was fond of saying, “Two ‘plantets’ [grahas] one place, very dangerous.” What is meant by this is that on these days, the sun and the moon are in a line relative to the position of the earth. Consequently, their gravitational forces are all combined, and thus the effect of the ‘plantets’ more pronounced. One definitive effect of this is that the ocean’s tides are higher and lower on these days. When āsana practice is done daily, rest days are important for regeneration; and the extra biweekly ‘moon day’ comes as a welcomed respite.”

So we are now respecting the rest days in our Ashtanga Yoga program here at Yoga Village. All other classes will take place as usual, but Ashtanga Yoga Mysore Style, Intro to Ashtanga Yoga and Ashtanga Led Classes will not take place on the following days.


MOON DAYS 2018


Jan 2, Tuesday Full Moon

Jan 17, Wednesday New Moon
February 1, Thursday Full Moon
February 16, Friday, New Moon
March 2, Friday, Full Moon
March 18, Sunday, New Moon
April 1, Sunday, Full Moon
April 16, Monday, New Moon
April 30, Monday, Full Moon
May 15, Tuesday, New Moon
May 30, Wednesday, Full Moon
June 14, Thursday, New Moon
June 28, Thursday, Full Moon
July 13, Friday, New Moon
July 28, Saturday, Full Moon
August 12, Sunday, New Moon
August 26, Sunday, Full Moon
September 10, Monday, New Moon
September 25, Tuesday, Full Moon
October 9, Tuesday, New Moon
October 25, Thursday, Full Moon
November 8, Thursday, New Moon
November 23, Friday, Full Moon
December 7, Friday, New Moon
December 23, Sunday, Full Moon


Please don’t use those days to go running or do another yoga class. Instead give your body a chance to rest, sleep in a little, meditate, stretch lightly at home or go for a stroll in the park. And enjoy!!
Much Love
Nadia

New Student Special

$79

One Month Unlimited
BUY NOW

Yoga Class in Session at Yoga Village Potts Point

Give the Gift of Yoga

Yoga Village Gift Card
BUY NOW